Published on November 25, 2020 Updated on December 4, 2020

The researcher from BATir won the Hangai prize from the IASS.

Recherche Liesbeth Arnouts Liesbeth I.W. Arnouts, PhD student at BATir, won the 2020 Hagai prize from the 2020 Hagai prize from the International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS)  for her thesis on bistable transformable structures co-supervised by the ULB and the VUB (promoters : Peter Berke, Thierry J. Massart et Niels De Temmerman - Architectural Engineering dept, VUB). In memory of Professor Yasuhiko Hangai (Japan, 1942-1998), a very active member of the IASS and its Executive Council, and in accordance with his career-long encouragement for young people, the Hangai Prize recognizes talented young researchers, designers, and engineers working in the field of shell and spatial structures. 

The IASS, founded by Eduardo Torroja in 1959, gathers engineers, architects, builders and all others interested in lightweigt structural systems such as lattice, tension, membrane, and shell structures, and more broadly interested in the creative integration of structural engineering and architecture.